After All I’ve Done by Mina Hardy – ARC Review

after all i've done book review

After All I’ve Done

Author: Mina Hardy

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Release date: November 10, 2020

Pages: 310

Genre: Suspense/Thriller

Rating: ★★★★

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links. This means that when you buy through these links, I get a small commission, at no extra cost to you.

ARC kindly received in exchange for an honest review.

| Buy After All I’ve Done on Amazon |

Synopsis

Writing as Mina Hardy, New York Times bestselling author Megan Hart delivers a thrilling new psychological suspense for fans of The Woman in the Window and When the Lights Go Out.

She’s lost her best friend, her husband–and possibly, her mind.

Five months ago, an accident left Diana Sparrow badly injured and missing a few months of her memory. As if that’s not enough, she’s started having recurring nightmares about the night of the accident. Dreams that feel so real, she’s left questioning: maybe she didn’t just slide off the road into a ditch. Maybe, just maybe, she hit something. Or someone.

She can’t turn to her former best friend Val, who’s been sleeping with Diana’s husband Jonathan for months, but she might find some comfort in newcomer Cole Pelham. Yet the closer they become, the more Diana begins to wonder what really happened that night–and how Cole might be connected. Worse, it seems everyone else could be involved, too.

Who was with her that night? What really happened? As her life unravels thread by thread and the dreams become too real to ignore, Diana will have to face the unthinkable–and do the unforgivable.

Why did I choose to read After All I’ve Done?

First of all, hello gorgeous cover.

Also, after reading the synopsis, I was hooked. I love Domestic thrillers, and I had a good feeling about this one!

Turns out I was right! Read on to find out why I gave After All I’ve Done four stars!

What did I think of After All I’ve Done?

When you think you’ve got it all figured out – think again!

This twisted tale really takes us on a rollercoaster of emotion, especially the ending! Wow!

All throughout the novel, you have a love/hate relationship with all the characters: Jonathan, the cheating husband who is loved by all the women in this book; Val, the best friend with whom the husband is cheating with; the mother-in-law, so helpful yet smothering; and Diana, the main character, who is pretentious and vain, yet generous and caring for her best friend.

All of these characters are despicable in their own way, yet you can’t help but root for them or feel for them. I really liked that none of these characters are perfect, they all have their flaws and quirks.

After All I’ve Done was really fun to read. Like I said, you think you’ve figured it out, you’re suspicious of someone, yet you can’t see that ending coming! This twist totally takes you by surprise!

Don’t expect too much action, though! Most of the story is about Diana putting the pieces together of what happened the night of her accident – that left her with broken collarbones and amnesia. We also get to see, through the eyes of Val, the best friend, most of what happened in the months leading up to Diana’s accident.

The big action really happens at the very end, when the truth finally comes out and shatters everything these characters thought they knew!

This novel was a page-turner, a twisted domestic thriller. I give it four stars for keeping me on my toes but I would have enjoyed a little bit more murder/mystery action.

Until next time!

Melanie

 

When you think you've got it all figured out - think again! Check out my review of After All I've Done right here! A domestic thriller with a twist you'll never see coming! Follow Diana as she tries to figure out what happened the night of the accident a few months ago - an accident that made her forget a few months of her life. As she tries to piece the puzzle together, Diana must also face the fact that her husband is cheating on her with her best friend. Things, and people, simply aren't what they seem in this thrilling suspense novel!
When you think you've got it all figured out - think again! Check out my review of After All I've Done right here! A domestic thriller with a twist you'll never see coming! Follow Diana as she tries to figure out what happened the night of the accident a few months ago - an accident that made her forget a few months of her life. As she tries to piece the puzzle together, Diana must also face the fact that her husband is cheating on her with her best friend. Things, and people, simply aren't what they seem in this thrilling suspense novel!

For more book reviews, check these out:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.