All the books I've reviewed in 2019 | Petite Melanie Here are the 9 books I've reviewed in 2019. Fiction, True Crime, Nonfiction, Fantasy, Young Adult, Suspense/Thriller, etc. Some excellent books and some a bit less, but to know more about these books, check out each review!
Book reviews Books

All the books I’ve reviewed in 2019

December 21, 2019

2019 is almost behind us! I thought I’d look back on all the books I’ve reviewed in 2019.

I had the idea to do a sum-up post of all the books I’ve reviewed this year, whether I enjoyed them and would recommend them. I will also leave links to my reviews for those who want more details on the books.

I’ve reviewed 9 books in total in 2019, and some of them were ARC (Advanced Reader’s Copy). Some of these were also released prior to 2019, but I reviewed them this year. At the end, I will let you know which of these nine books was my favorite to read and review!

Without further ado, here are all the books I’ve reviewed in 2019!

Note: This post contains affiliate links. This means that when you buy through these links, I get a small commission, at no extra cost to you.

Becoming by Michelle Obama

Release Date: November 13, 2018

Genre: Memoir

Rating I gave: ★★★★★

What I thought of the book: Absolutely loved it! This woman is, no doubt, brilliant, but to know that she grew up with less rather than more just makes her even more magnificient! Plus, getting the “deets” on the beginning of her relationship with the Ex-President of the United States is simply enjoyable and fun! Her memoir is 100% worth reading!

Buy it here!

Click here to check out the full review of Becoming!

I’ll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara

Release Date: February 27th, 2018

Genre: True Crime

Rating I gave: ★★★★★

What I thought of the book: This book. Oh. My. God. I didn’t know how much of True Crime Junkie I was until I read this book. It was unbelievably captivating and I recommend this book to EVERYONE. This is the story of a woman obsessed about the Golden State Killer (a name she came up with herself) and her search for the truth. But even more amazing about this book is that it was released in February of 2018, and the GSK was ARRESTED in April 2018, for crimes (burglary, rapes, murders) he committed in the 70’s and 80’s!

Buy it here!

Click here to check out the full review of I’ll Be Gone in the Dark!

The Au Pair by Emma Rous

Release Date: January 8th, 2019

Genre: Suspense/Thriller

Rating I gave: ★★★

What I thought of the book: I remember enjoying this book, but not nearly as much as I thought I would. The cover was really what attracted me to this book in the beginning: it’s so pretty! The Au Pair gives it its best shot: mystery, family drama, murder, but still, I wasn’t surprised by the ending. Still, an enjoyable read.

Buy it here!

Click here to check out the full review of The Au Pair!

A Perfect Lie by Lisa Renee Jones

Release Date: May 14th, 2019

Genre: Suspense

Rating I gave: ★★★★

What I thought of the book: A great read for fans of suspense, politics, family drama and murder. It wasn’t my favorite type of narration, with the “present” narrator commenting on the past, but I eventually grew used to it.

Buy it here!

Click here to check out the full review of A Perfect Lie!

The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald

Release Date: February 5th, 2019

Genre: Suspense/Thriller

Rating I gave: ★★★

What I thought of the book: I liked this one, but I didn’t love it. I think it should have been targeted more at Young Adults, whereas I was expecting an “adult” novel, if that makes sense. Also, the mother character in this novel was hard to get behind, as she was often too strict with her teenage daughter, exaggeratedly so. Still, I enjoyed it and gave it 3 stars!

Buy it here!

Click here to check out the full review of The Night Olivia Fell!

The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young

Release Date: September 3rd, 2019

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Rating I gave: ★★★★

What I thought of the book: A must-read for fans of the book Sky in the Deep by the same author! And if you haven’t read Sky in the Deep yet, it is also a must-read! So basically, The Girl the Sea Gave Back IS a must-read. For fans of fantasy novels and the TV series Vikings.

Buy it here!

Click here to check out the full review of The Girl the Sea Gave Back!

Missing Person by Sarah Lotz

Release Date: September 3rd, 2019

Genre: Suspense/Thriller

Rating I gave: ★★★1/2

What I thought of the book: This book is about a website whose mission is to help the authorities link unidentified remains to missing persons. I quite enjoyed this novel: the characters were very likable and their back-story helped set the tone. I also really liked the use of modern technology, such as chat and Instant Messaging to help narrate the story. I recommend this book 100%!

Buy it here!

Click here to check out the full review of Missing Person!

The Last Wife by Nicola Marsh

Release Date: October 11th, 2019

Genre: Suspense/Thriller

Rating I gave: ★★★

What I thought of the book: I enjoyed this book and gave it 3 stars! Though I was a bit confused when I started reading it, because I’d been misled by the synopsis! I was expecting something different from having read the synopsis. Still, it was a good suspense novel, but experienced Thriller novels will probably see the twist at the end coming!

Buy it here!

Click here to check out the full review of The Last Wife!

Good Girls Lie by J. T. Ellison

Release Date: December 30th, 2019

Genre: Suspense/Thriller

Rating I gave: ★★★

What I thought of the book: This book had a slow beginning, but once you read the first 30%, the action picks up. I particularly liked the setting in this novel, the all-girl boarding school, and the character of Dean Westhaven. I gave this book 3 stars for an action-packed second half!

Buy it here!

Click here to check out the full review of Good Girls Lie!


That’s it! Those were all the books I’ve reviewed in 2019!

As you might have guessed already, my favorite book out of these 9 to read and review was I’ll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara. What a wonderful work this investigative-journalistic book is! I recommend 1000%!

Have you read any of these? What did you think? Which one would like to read next the most? Let me know in the comments below!

Until next time!

Mélanie

Here are the 9 books I've reviewed in 2019. Fiction, True Crime, Nonfiction, Fantasy, Young Adult, Suspense/Thriller, etc. Some excellent books and some a bit less, but to know more about these books, check out each review!

 


In case you missed these, here are the books I reviewed back in 2018!

Only registered users can comment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.